First Impressions of Taiwan

My first thoughts on living in Taiwan.

Compact is the first word that comes to mind when I think of Taiwan. It’s an island of 23 million people and traveling from north to south takes only 3 hours! I myself live in one of the smaller cities but when I first arrived I thought this city was huge. There are an abundant of shops, restaurants, scooters, and people so it only gives the impression of being a bigger scale city.

I do like the fact that I can find pretty much anything I want in my new town without having to travel to bigger bustling cities like Taichung. The only thing I haven’t been able to find are tortillas, really craving some Mexican food. Typical.

IMG_6669

Taiwan, where they speak Mandarin but act like the Japanese. It is obvious that the Japanese owned Taiwan for some time. It’s evident in the infrastructure, food, and even the way the locals dress. I love this aspect of Taiwan and it’s really interesting to see how much Japan had an impact on Taiwan.

IMG_6655

Taiwanese people as a whole are curious about foreigners. Personally, I hate the staring though. There’s nothing I can do about that so I’ll just keep going about my day like normal. The people have been very helpful and I’m surprised by how everyone I’ve met speaks at least a little bit of English.

IMG_6469

As soon as we get ourselves settled in to our apartment (Still need to buy some furniture) we will be making plenty of trips around the island. Taiwan is amazing for traveling, it’s cheap and convenient. If you have any recommendations on cities I should visit around Taiwan, I’d love to hear all about them.

Cheers,

GE

1 thought on “First Impressions of Taiwan”

Leave a Reply

